It is now  6:49 am  Tuesday,  June  19, 2001  in Belarus

Map of the Republic of Belarus, showing oblasti and major cities.

The Republic of Belarus is divided into six regions, like states or provinces, called "oblasti." Each oblast is named after it's capitol city: Minsk (which is also the capitol of Belarus), Brest, Gomel, Grodno, Mogilev and Vitebsk.

Maps of the oblasti are available by clicking inside the oblast on the accompanying map. Unfortunately, they are only available in Russian Cyrillic text.
WARNING: The oblast maps are quite large, and may take some time to load!

Map of the Republic of Belarus showing major geographic features.
generally flat and contains much marshland
lowest point:
Nyoman River 90 m/295 ft.
highest point:
Dzyarzhynskaya Hara 346 m/1135 ft.

Natural resources:
forests, peat deposits, small quantities of oil and natural gas

Land use:
arable land: 29%
permanent crops: 1%
meadows and pastures: 15%
forest and woodland: 0%
other: 55%